CITY OF PLYMOUTH, WISCONSIN TUESDAY, APRIL 16, 2024 COMMON COUNCIL MEETING 7:00 PM, COUNCIL CHAMBERS, ROOM 302 128 SMITH ST. PLYMOUTH, WI 53073

UNOFFICIAL MINUTES

- 1. Call to order and roll call: Mayor Donald Pohlman called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM. On the call of the roll the following Alderpersons were present: Angie Matzdorf, Diane Gilson, Mike Penkwitz, Jeff Tauscheck, John Nelson, and Dave Herrmann. Also present were: City Administrator/Utilities Manager Tim Blakeslee, Police Chief Ken Ruggles, and City Clerk Anna Voigt.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance.
- **3.** Approval of Council Meeting Minutes from April 9, 2024: Motion was made by Hildebrand/Tauscheck to approve the minutes from April 9, 2024. A unanimous aye vote was cast. Motion carried.
- 4. Audience Comments: Citizen comments must be recognized by the mayor or presiding officer and are limited to 3 minutes per person from those signed in on the sheet in the back of the room prior to the start of the meeting: None
- 5. Adjourn Sine Die: Mayor Pohlman adjourned the meeting, Sine Die.
- 6. **Reconvene roll call:** Mayor Pohlman called the meeting to order. On call of the roll, the following Alderpersons were present: Jeff Tauscheck, Dave Herrmann, Angie Matzdorf, Diane Gilson, Greg Hildebrand, Mike Penkwitz, John Binder, and John Nelson. Also present were: City Administrator/Utilities Manager Tim Blakeslee, Police Chief Ken Ruggles, and City Clerk Anna Voigt.

7. Oath of Office

Mayor: Don Pohlman Alderpersons: Greg Hildebrand – District 1, Angie Matzdorf – District 2, John Binder – District 3, Mike Penkwitz – District 4: City Clerk Voigt administered the Oath of Office to the Alderpersons and Mayor.

8. Elect Council President: Angie Matzdorf made a motion to nominate John Nelson for Council President. Diane Gilson made a motion to nominate Mike Penkwitz for Council President. The Mayor closed nominations. A secret ballot was administered via paper ballot. Results ended with Nelson having 6 votes and Penkwitz having 2 votes. Mayor Pohlman announced John Nelson as Council President.

9. COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS (1 yr):

<u>Announce Mayoral Appointments</u>: Mayor Pohlman announced the following appointments A through B.

A. Board of Review – *Angie Matzdorf, Council President & City Clerk or City Treasurer*

- **B. Plan Commission** *Greg Hildebrand*
- C. Joint Review Board Greg Hildebrand

<u>Mayoral Appointments Requiring Council Approval (1 yr)</u>: Motion was made by Herrman/Penkwitz to approve all Mayoral appointments listed D. through K. A unanimous aye vote cast. Motion carried.

- **D. Finance/Personnel** John Nelson, Diane Gilson, Jeff Tauscheck, and Mike Penkwitz
- E. Public Works/Utility Greg Hildebrand, Angie Matzdorf, David Herrmann, and John Binder
- F. Library Board Angie Matzdorf
- **G. Parks Committee** *Mike Penkwitz*
- **H. Revolving Loan** Diane Gilson and Staff Member City Administrator/Utilities Manager Tim Blakeslee
- I. Room Tax Tourism Commission Mayor Pohlman, Diane Gilson, and Staff Member City Administrator/Utilities Tim Blakeslee
- J. Community Television (TV 14) Mike Penkwitz

Appointments by Council (1 yr):

- **K. Public Safety Committee 2 Council members** Dave Herrmann and John Binder
- L. City Liaison to the PIC Board of Directors Mike Penkwitz

10. CITIZEN COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS:

<u>Announce Mayoral appointments:</u> Mayor Pohlman announced the following appointments A through B.

- A. Joint Review Board (1 yr. term) Grace Meyer
- B. Plan Commission (3 yr. term) Jeremy Schellin

<u>Mayoral Appointments requiring Council approval</u> Motion was made by Penkwitz/Matzdorf to approve appointments A. through E. A unanimous aye vote was cast. Motion carried.

- A. Board of Appeals (3 yr. term) *Carole O'Malley*
- B. Library Board (3 yr. term) Sarah Britt & Barbara McKnight
- **C. Revolving Loan Committee (3 yr. term) -** Donna Hahn, (The following need override of term limit) Terry Abler, Mel Blanke, Scott Flood, and Gary Kramer
- D. Room Tax Commission (1 yr. term) Mary Hauser
- **E.** Public Safety Committee (2 yr. term) Al Kranick (Needs override of term limit)

Adjourn to 7:00 PM on Tuesday, April 30, 2024: Motion was made by Binder/Matzdorf to adjourn the meeting. A unanimous aye vote was cast. Motion carried.